News Releases

Sep 2017

Sask Wheat announces candidates for 2017 Director election

Saskatoon (September 19, 2017) – The Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (Sask Wheat) has received nominations from 10 Saskatchewan wheat producers for four available positions on the Sask Wheat Board of Directors.

The 2017 candidates for Sask Wheat Director positions are:

  • Daryl Fransoo (Meota)
  • William (Bill) Gehl (Regina)
  • Brett Halstead (Nokomis)
  • Jake Leguee (Weyburn)
  • Rodney Luhning (Lumsden)
  • Patricia Lung (Humboldt)
  • Ken Rosaasen (Saskatoon)
  • Trevor Scherman (Battleford)
  • Scott Sefton (Broadview)
  • Glenn Tait (Meota)

Candidate biographies and pictures will be available on the Sask Wheat website ( and in the October 2017 edition of the Sask Wheat newsletter.

The election will take place between October 24 and November 24. Ballots will be sent to all registered wheat producers in October. Producers will have the option to vote electronically or via a mail-in paper ballot. The results of the election will be announced in early December and the four successful candidates will be installed to the Board of Directors at the Sask Wheat AGM on January 9, 2018.

– 30 –

For more information or to schedule interviews, please contact:

Dallas Carpenter
Communications Manager
Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
P: 306-220-7003

Latest Research

Assessment and deployment of a new dwarfing gene in red spring wheat

This project focuses on evaluation of CWRS wheat lines introgressed with dwarfing gene Rht18 from durum in the CDC Bread Wheat Program, for any deleterious effects on agronomic and end use quality traits.

view all