When Bill C-18, the Marketing Freedom for Grain Farmers Act, became law in August 2012, Western Canada’s wheat industry entered a new era. The new legislation led existing provincial commissions and farm organizations to call for new leadership of Saskatchewan’s wheat industry, which led to the creation of the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission.


History of Sask Wheat Development Commission

Provincial regulations governing the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission were passed in June 2013 and the organization was formally launched by Saskatchewan Agriculture Minister Lyle Stewart on June 20, 2013. The collection of refundable levies of $0.52 per tonne for wheat began August 1, 2013. An interim Board, appointed by Government, directed the initial activities of the Commission until an elected Board of Directors took office on January 13, 2014.

Sask Wheat absorbed the responsibilities and financial obligations of the Western Canadian Deduction (WCD) on August 1, 2017. The WCD was established by the Government of Canada on August 1, 2012, replacing the previous check-off that was administered by the Canadian Wheat Board (CWB). The WCD levy of $0.48 per tonne was applied to all sales of wheat delivered to licensed grain buyers in Western Canada. The WCD was established as a transitional levy to ensure continued support for the development of new wheat varieties by public breeding institutions and market support activities at the Canadian International Grains Institute (Cigi), which were previously funded by the CWB check-off.

Under the direction of Sask Wheat, Saskatchewan producers’ check-off dollars will now be invested in research and development initiatives to fuel a sustainable and profitable wheat industry.

Latest Research

Influence of genotype, weather and the growing environment

The research will investigate the nature of CWRS wheat gluten strength variation in milling grade samples in relation to genotype...

view all